Reviewing node inventory

The nodes from all Puppet Enterprise (PE) instances integrated with a workspace are shown on that workspace's Nodes page. This page gives you a federated view of all the nodes that your workspace deploys code to.

Customize your node table

The Nodes page shows a list of every node from every PE instance integrated with your workspace, along with basic information about each node. You can customize your page view to display node facts that are relevant to your work.

By default, the node table displays the following information about each node:
  • Node name
    Note: Click the node name to view all facts for the node and a list of all available PE reports for the node.
  • Time since the node's most recent PE report was generated
  • Node run status for the most recent Puppet run
  • The PE server the node is associated with
  • The value of the ipaddress fact
  • The value of the operatingsystem fact
You can add additional columns showing other fact values (including structured fact values) to the node table, or remove default columns that do not meet your needs.
  1. In the Continuous Delivery for PE web UI, click Nodes.
  2. Click Columns +/- to open the column selector.
  3. To add a new column, search for the fact value you wish to view and click Add. The fact value appears in the list of columns.
  4. To determine which columns are shown or hidden, use the checkmarks next to the list of columns to indicate which columns you want to display.
  5. When your column list is ready, click Apply. Your changes are reflected in the table.

Build a fact chart

Fact charts are visual representations of the distribution of Facter fact values across all the nodes managed by the Puppet Enterprise instances you've integrated with Continuous Delivery for PE. You can add custom fact charts to any saved view for quick reference.

Select the Facter facts that are important to your business and visualize the distribution of unique values for a given fact in a fact chart. For example, you can create a fact chart that shows how many Windows Server versions you currently have in your inventory, and how many servers are on each unique version.

You can create a fact chart for any Facter fact, including custom facts and structured facts.

  1. In the Continuous Delivery for PE web UI, click Nodes.
  2. Click Add fact chart and enter the name of the fact you want to visualize.
  3. Select whether to exclude nodes that do not use your chosen fact in your fact chart.
    If you include nodes without your chosen fact in your fact chart, the nodes that do not use the fact are shown as a section of the graph labeled Fact absent.
  4. Click Save. The new fact chart appears in the fact chart section of the page.
    Hover over any section of the fact chart to see details about the number and percentage of nodes with a given fact value.
  5. To edit or remove a fact chart, click the more actions icon Icon of three dots arranged verticallyand select Edit or Remove.
What to do next
To save your fact charts for future reference and easily share them with your colleagues, follow the instructions below to save your customized view.

Save custom views

Once you've customized the Nodes page by adding fact charts and using columns and filters to show the node information that's most relevant to your work, you can save your customized view for later reference. Saved views are automatically shared with all members of your workspace, and each member can create a list of personal favorite views for quick access.

  1. Create a custom version of the Nodes page by customizing the displayed columns, adding or removing fact charts, and applying filters.
  2. Click Save View and select Save as new to create a new saved view.
  3. Enter a name and optional description for the view.
    Every saved view is added to the library of saved views created by everyone in your workspace, and all members of your workspace are able to see and use them.
  4. Optional: Designate this saved view as one of your favorites.
    Marking a saved view as a favorite prioritizes that view when you visit the library of saved views, and adds it to the list of favorite views available at the top of the node table. Each user in your workspace has their own personal list of favorite saved views.
  5. Click Save.
  6. You're directed to the Saved views page, where all saved views created by members of your workspace are listed. Use the controls in the Actions column to manage your saved views and favorite views.
    • To add a saved view to your list of favorites, click the open star icon Icon of the outline of a star.
    • To remove a saved view from your list of favorites, click the closed star icon Icon of a star.
    • To delete a saved view that you created, click the trash can icon Icon of a trash can.
      Tip: Remember, saved views are shared with all other members of your workspace, so check with your colleagues before deleting a saved view that may be used by others.
  7. Click any view's name to return to return to the node table with that view applied.
    From the node table, switch between views by clicking on the name of the view at the top of the table. A menu of your favorite views and other saved views opens. From this menu, click Show all saved views to return to the Saved views page.