Groups

Sections

Puppet Pipelines allows you to assign permissions, via groups, to users on your account. For more information on users see Users.

Permissions are assigned to users through groups. To assign a user permissions, the user must be added to your Pipelines account.

Create a group

Creating a group allows you to provision permissions for your users.

  1. Sign in to the Pipelines web UI.
  2. Click the gear icon on the top right.
  3. Click the Groups link on the left.
  4. Click the Add Group button.
  5. Give the group a unique name.

    Note: The name should be descriptive of the permissions. For example: ‘read-only’ or ‘deploy-only’.

  6. Optionally, enter a description for the group.
  7. Set the group permissions. For an in-depth look at the permissions, see the Assign Group Permissions section.

    Note: You must set all permissions before you can save the group.

  8. At the bottom of the groups page you can add users to the group. Search for users either by their Pipelines username or their email.

    Note: You can only add users to your group that are members of your account. For more information on users, see User.

  9. When you are done, click the Save Group button.

Assign group permissions

When creating a group, you must assign the group a set of permissions. You can edit the group and adjust permissions.

You can create more than one group. Users that are members of more than one group will receive the least restrictive permission of the groups they are in.

Permissions

Permission

Description

Requires

Applications




Full Control

Full access to all account applications



Read-only

Can view all account applications



Deploy Only

Can deploy account applications

Environment access


Push Only

Can push account applications (create releases)



No Access

No access to account applications


Environments




Full Control

Full access to account environments

Application access


Read-only

Can view account environments

Application access


Deploy Only

Can deploy to account environment

Application access


No Access

No access to account environments


Agent




Full Control

Full control of the agent



No Access

No access to the agent


Global Settings




Full Control

Can manage global account settings



Read-only

Can view global account settings



No Access

No access to global account settings


Credentials




Full Control

Can manage account credentials

Global settings access


Read-only

Can view account credentials

Global settings access


No Access

No access to account credentials


Billing & Plans




Full Control

Can manage account billing and plans

Global settings access


Read-only

Can view account billing and plans

Global settings access


No Access

No access to account billing and plans


Users




Full Control

Can manage account membership

Global settings access


Read-only

Can view account membership

Global settings access


No Access

No access to the account's account


Groups




Full Control

Can manage account groups

Global settings access


Read-only

Can view account groups

Global settings access


No Access

No access to account gorups


Edit group permissions

To edit a group, follow these steps.

  1. In the Pipelines web UI, click the gear icon on the top right.
  2. Click the Groups link on the left.
  3. Click the group name for the group that you wish to edit. Note that you cannot change the name of an existing group.
  4. Edit the group.
  5. When you are done, click the Save Group button.

Add users to a group

  1. In the Pipelines web UI, click the gear icon on the top right.
  2. Click the Groups link on the left.
  3. Click the group name for the group that you wish to add users.
  4. At the bottom of the groups page you can add user’s to the group. Search for users either by their Pipelines username or their email.
  5. When you are done, click the Save Group button.

Remove users from a group

To remove users, follow these steps.

  1. In the Pipelines web UI, click the gear icon on the top right.
  2. Click the Groups link on the left.
  3. Click the group name for the group that you wish to add users.
  4. At the bottom of the groups page you can see the current user’s in the group.
  5. Click the X to the right of the user you wish to remove from the group.

    Note: Deleting a group member will not remove that user from your account. The user may still have access to your Puppet Pipelines resources. Remove the user from your account to completely disallow access. For more information see Removing Users.

  6. When you are done, click the Save Group button.

Delete a group

Deleting a group will remove all the permissions from the users assigned to the group.

Note: Deleting a group will not remove users from your account. Users may still have access to your Distell resources. Remove a user from your account to completely disallow access. For more information see Removing Users.

To delete a group, follow these steps.

  1. In the Pipelines web UI, click the gear icon on the top right.
  2. Click the Groups link on the left.
  3. Click the X to the left of the group that you wish to remove.
  4. When the dialog pops up asking you to confirm you want to delete the group, click the Yes button. </ol>
How helpful was this page?
Puppet sites use proprietary and third-party cookies. By using our sites, you agree to our cookie policy.